Contributions to Public Spirit are generally by invitation, but we are open to inquiries and suggestions, especially regarding comment pieces that deal with issues that are of contemporary relevance and/or in the public spotlight. We encourage readers to join discussions by commenting on individual posts (all comments are reviewed prior to being posted on-line: see our comments moderation policy here). Questions regarding editorial policy and terms of use should be directed to the editors at

The full list of contributors to Public Spirit is as follows:


Trevor Adams, Livability

Fauzia Ahmad, University College London

Husna Ahmad, Green Pearl

Chris Allen, University of Birmingham

Imran Awan, Birmingham City University


Chara Bakalis, Oxford Brookes University

Chris Baker, William Temple Foundation and University of Chester

Dominic Baker, Kensington and Chelsea Council

David Barclay, Contextual Theology Centre

Paul Bickley, Theos

Leda Blackwood, Bath University

Luke Bretherton, Duke University

Katherine E. Brown, King’s College London

Shenaz Bunglawala, Engage


Liz Carnelley, Near Neighbours

Jonathan Chaplin, Kirby Laing Institute for Christian Ethics

Sariya Cheruvallil-Contractor, University of Derby

Tom Chigbo, Citizens UK

Jon Cruddas, MP for Dagenham and Rainham, Labour


Jawaahir Daahir, Somali Development Services

Grace Davie, University of Exeter

Francis Davis, Cathedral Innovation Centre

Daniel Nilsson DeHanas, King’s College London

Adam Dinham, Goldsmiths, University of London

Tarek El Diwany, Kreatoc Zest Ltd

Jan Dobbernack, University of Lincoln

Claire Dwyer, University College London


Bethany Eckley, Church Urban Fund

Khadijah Elshayyal, Royal Holloway, University of London


Max Fararr, writer and sociologist

Matthew Francis, Lancaster University


Bharath Ganesh, Tell Mama

Sophie Gilliat-Ray. University of Cardiff

Ewan Gurr, The Trussell Trust


John Hall, St Philip’s Centre

Sadek Hamid, Liverpool Hope University

Warwick Hawkins, Department for Communities and Local Government

Titus Hjelm, University College London

Sarah Hobbs, Maslaha

Elaine Housby, writer and sociologist

Dilwar Hussain, New Horizons in British Islam


Arshad Isakjee, University of Birmingham


Frances Jones, Tower Hamlets Council

Stephen H. Jones, Newman University


Tehmina Kazi, British Muslims for Secular Democracy

Steven Kettell, University of Warwick

Keith Kahn-Harris, writer and sociologist

Edward Kessler, Woolf Institute, Cambridge University, Commission on Religion and Belief in British Public Life

Humera Khan, An-Nisa

Brian Klug, University of Oxford

Philip Krinks, Centre for Theology & Community


Aleksandra Lewicki, University of Bristol


Maleiha Malik, King’s College, University of London

Derek McGhee, University of Southampton

Seán McLoughlin, University of Leeds

Nasar Meer, University of Strathclyde

John Milbank, University of Nottingham

Tariq Modood, University of Bristol

Jahangir Mohammed, Communica Ltd

Fiyaz Mughal, Faith Matters


Suleman Nagdi, Federation of Muslim Organisations (FMO) Leicestershire

Adrian Newman, Bishop of Stepney

Maria W, Norris, London School of Economics and Political Science


Therese O’Toole, University of Bristol


Timothy Peace, University of Edinburgh

David Perfect, Equality and Human Rights Commission

Anna Piela, Leeds Trinity University


Naaz Rashid, University of Manchester

Riaz Ravat, St Philip’s Centre

Richard Reddie, author and researcher


Prakash Shah, Queen Mary, University of London

Chris Shannahan, University of Manchester

Leon Silver, East London Central Synagogue

Jasjit Singh, University of Leeds

Daniel Singleton, FaithAction

Caroline Starkey, University of Leeds

Paul Statham, University of Sussex

Selina Stone, Contextual Theology Centre and Parliamentary Assistant


Raymond Taras, University of Sussex, Tulane University

Jenny Taylor, Lapido Media

Paul Thomas, University of Huddersfield

Emma Tomalin, University of Leeds


Ansar Ahmed Ullah, Nirmul Committee


Lucy Vickers, Oxford Brookes University

David Voas, University of Essex


Maya Warrier, University of Wales

Linda Woodhead, Lancaster University


Mohammad Zaman, MADE in Europe

John Zavos, University of Manchester